Election 2013: Sequoia incumbents re-elected | November 13, 2013 | Almanac | Almanac Online |


News - November 13, 2013

Election 2013: Sequoia incumbents re-elected

by Dave Boyce

Surging enrollment and dramatic changes in curriculum are among the challenges facing incumbents Alan Sarver and Chris Thomsen, who were re-elected Nov. 4 to four-year terms on the board of the Sequoia Union High School District.

In a three-way race for two seats, challenger Georgia Jack finished a close third. Mr. Sarver received 15,222 votes, Mr. Thomsen, 14,254, and Ms. Jack, 13,841.

"A pretty competitive election night," said Mr. Sarver. "It was what I expected."

Mr. Thomsen had a similar take. "It was a close race and I'm personally grateful for all the support I received," he said. "I think (Ms. Jack) ran a very effective campaign, made lots of connections in the community and had a groundswell of support."

Ms. Jack said there was nothing she would have done differently. "We analyzed the field, we put together a group of eight people who are very hard working and very smart, and we put together a plan and we implemented it," she said.

She critiqued news reporting: "I would like to see the journalists do more investigation. There is a tendency when time is short to go with what people say," she said, "and not thread the pieces together to see what's actually going on. ... Reporters are supposed to be analysts, to synthesize it and let the public know what's going on."

College board

While voters gave incumbent Richard Holober a fifth four-year term in the Nov. 5 election for two seats on the board of the San Mateo County Community College District, they also cast more votes for newcomer Thomas Mohr, a former president of Canada Community College in Woodside.

The two captured the seats with Mr. Mohr receiving 51,936 votes and Mr. Holober, 47,215. Two other candidates finished far back: George Yang received 13,923 votes and J. Samuel Diaz, 8,544.

Woodside council

The uncontested election for three seats on the Woodside Town Council ended predictably, with voters returning to office the three incumbent candidates: Deborah C. Gordon, Anne M. Kasten and David Tanner.

Woodside elects council members by district, and there was only one candidate in each of the three districts with seats up for election. In District 2, Ms. Gordon won election to her fourth term with 612 votes. In District 4, Mr. Tanner won election to his fourth full term with 612 votes. In District 6, Ms. Kasten won with 596 votes to start her second term on the council.

Election turnout

The Election Office reported that 23 percent of registered voters cast ballots in this election, and 75 percent of those were vote-by-mail ballots.


There are no comments yet for this post

Post a comment

Posting an item on Town Square is simple and requires no registration. Just complete this form and hit "submit" and your topic will appear online. Please be respectful and truthful in your postings so Town Square will continue to be a thoughtful gathering place for sharing community information and opinion. All postings are subject to our TERMS OF USE, and may be deleted if deemed inappropriate by our staff.

We prefer that you use your real name, but you may use any "member" name you wish.

Name: *

Select your neighborhood or school community: * Not sure?

Choose a category: *

Since this is the first comment on this story a new topic will also be started in Town Square! Please choose a category that best describes this story.

Comment: *

Verification code: *
Enter the verification code exactly as shown, using capital and lowercase letters, in the multi-colored box.

*Required Fields