Schools - June 29, 2011

Woodside Elementary graduates 48

Submitted by Tina Adolph of Woodside Elementary School.

Forty-eight eighth-graders at Woodside Elementary School took part in the school's graduation and received diplomas in the school's amphitheatre on June 10.

Commencement exercises began with the Woodside School Band, directed by Beth Dameron, playing the processional and eighth-grade students Lauren McHugh and Elisa Merten leading the salute to the flag and the singing of the National Anthem.

Bettina Pike, president of the Woodside Elementary school board, welcomed parents, guests and students before the eighth-grade speakers gave their addresses.

The speakers and their topics were: Melissa Grace Demma, "Where We've Been, Where We'll Go"; Kyle Bruce Meredith, "Under Construction"; Rebecca Rose Shoch, "The Mistakes We Make"; and Eric Sager Luxenberg, "Timshel."

The class of 2011 chose and sang as its class song, "Stand By Me," with music and lyrics by Ben E. King.

Woodside School Foundation president and parent Sheree Shoch gave the commencement address.

Steve Frank, assistant principal, presented the Class of 2011 to trustees Wendy Crandall and Ginger Bamford.


A-D William Henry Baldwin, Gillian Patricia Belton, Timothy Stephen Brown, Patrick Martin Dancer, Melissa Grace Demma, Guillaume Daniel Diaz

E-K: Daniel Jorgen Feeny, Lindy Michele Garratt, Fiona Elisabeth Marie Gilbert, Emily Catherine Glazer, Jack Harrison Goldstein, Taira Nicole Hovden, William Leo Isackson, Mimi Rodger Kelly, Daniel Conrad Kollar-Gasiewski

L-P: Ayla Joy Partch-Lebovitz, Paul Henry Lego, Ilana Pam Lindsay, Nikhil Lonberg, Eric Sager Luxenberg, Monique Claire McDevitt, Lauren Adams McHugh, Kyle Bruce Meredith, Elisa Christina Merten, Bria Christine Michelsen, Logan Greg Waterfield Nash, Megan Patricia O'Neill, Daniella Louise Patch, William Konley Patch

Q-S: Uriel Plancarte Torres, Elizabeth Christine Putnam, Emile Julian Rappaport, Travis Raymond Ristow, Evan Ridgway Sawyer, Nicole Danielle Schumacher, Alexander Joseph Shaw, Rebecca Rose Shoch, Skyler Myong-Yong Song, Rollen Alexander Steele, Celeste Marie Stoker

T-Z: Monique Wilhelmina vanVeenendaal, Elise Nicole Waldow, Christina Byrnes Wampler, Robert Kit Wang, Andrew Rodert Weiss, Luke Sebastian Williford, Jake Pablo Mitchell Yulo, Ryan Wallace Zaky


There are no comments yet for this post

Post a comment

Posting an item on Town Square is simple and requires no registration. Just complete this form and hit "submit" and your topic will appear online. Please be respectful and truthful in your postings so Town Square will continue to be a thoughtful gathering place for sharing community information and opinion. All postings are subject to our TERMS OF USE, and may be deleted if deemed inappropriate by our staff.

We prefer that you use your real name, but you may use any "member" name you wish.

Name: *

Select your neighborhood or school community: * Not sure?

Choose a category: *

Since this is the first comment on this story a new topic will also be started in Town Square! Please choose a category that best describes this story.

Comment: *

Verification code: *
Enter the verification code exactly as shown, using capital and lowercase letters, in the multi-colored box.

*Required Fields