Schools - June 29, 2011

Hillview Middle School hands diplomas to 229

Submitted by Debbie Devoto, eighth-grade counselor at Hillview Middle School.

Hillview Middle School's 229 eighth-graders graduated June 15 with traditional pomp, ceremony, and rousing applause from the families, teachers and guests seated on Encinal School's field.

Retiring superintendent Ken Ranella was the adult speaker, and five Hillview students were selected by their classmates to also speak at the 5 p.m. event. Sohpia Bock, Alex Iyer, Will Johnston, Danny LaPorte, and Devon Smith spoke on the theme, "A Life Lesson."

Principal Mike Melton presented the eighth-graders to their Academy teachers, who presented the diplomas.

The Hillview Concert Band, directed by Richard Vaughan, performed a pre-ceremony concert and the traditional processional, "Pomp and Circumstance," and the recessional, "Legacy March." The newly formed Hillview Chorus, directed by Tyler Hunsanker, performed "May You Always Have a Song."

For the 25th consecutive year, the Jeff Sorrells Memorial Award, a $2,000 scholarship, was presented to an eighth-grader. This award was established by the Sorrells family in honor of their son, Jeff, who was a student at Hillview from 1985 to 1987.

A reception for graduates and guests was hosted by the seventh-grade parents immediately after the ceremony, and then the graduates celebrated at the traditional grad night party, sponsored by their parents and held in Hillview's multi-use room.


A: Miranda Alfano-Smith, Barrett Anderson, Lindsey Anderson, Thomas Andreae, Lindsay Andrew, Samantha Andrew, Marcus Anson, Alexander Argente, Elizabeth Atherton, Kyle Atkinson

B: Naomi Baer, Jonathan Baker, Tessa Baldwin, Danielle Balestra, Maya Barak, Evelyn Baran, Cassidy Barman, Deniz Bayrakeri, Theoren Belich, Dana Benelli, Sophia Bercow, John Bird, Natasha Bock, Sophia Bock, Lindsey Bogott, Alexandre Bourasseau, Nicholas Bradley, Rex Bressler, Grace Burke, Julie Burke

C: Claire Carruthers, Cameron Catalano, Nicolas Chand, Kaitlyn Cheng, Michael Child, Shaan Chilukuri, Ryan Cole, Gabriel Commissaris, Kodiak Conrad, Giulia Correa, Leza Cruzada, Monica Culhane, Schuyler Cummings, Kristin Cwirla

D-E: Anna Dailey, Sarah Dairiki, Alec Deng, Hannah Deutsch, Eliza Dewar, Peter Diller, William Dixon, Deja Douglas, Liam Dunn, Joseph Ellefritz, Victoria Ellis, Matthew Enriquez, Amanda Esquivel, Miles Evans

F-G: Jacob Feiler, Lauren Feldis, Taylor Felt, Samuel Ferguson, Brandon Fischer, Eliza Fitz, Jacqueline Foody, Nina Fox, Ina Franke, Eleanor Frye, Jackson Fuson, Quentin Gachot, Anthonie Garcia, Efrain Garcia, Samantha Gaston, Brigit Giles, Francesca Gilles, Margaret Gittings-Randall, Lauren Goff, Chloe Green, Dennis Green, Hannah Grossman

H-J: Zoe Hafter-Manza, Grant Hallee, Taryn Harpell, Annie Harrier, Jhalia Harris, Caroline Hayse, Carla Herrera, Henry Hilton, Grady Hocking, Caroline Hodes, Elisabeth Holliday, Sarah Howell, Colin Hug, Carolyn Hunt-Gonzalez, Shohtaroh Ikeno, Alexander Iyer, Whittaker Jellins, Alexander Jin, William Johnston, Ashley Jones

K-L: Holden Kardos, Emily Katz, Ryan Kessler, Jacob Killelea, Madelyn Kim, Kalina King, Alaina Kleck, Peter Knopf, John Knox, Scott Kuhnen, Kenton Kwok, Alexander Laird, Mila Lamb, Daniel LaPorte, Arnaud Laprais, Emmett Lee, Katherine Lee, Kendall Lee, AJ Lemons, Oren Lenchner, Eric Levenson, Georgette Libunao, Matthew Liston, Veronica Lopez

M-N: Michael Mainiero, Carlos Mancia, Salina Manibog, Preston Marsh, Mitchell Martella, Hannah Martin, William Marumoto, Cindy Matute, Ryan McCutcheon, Camille McKelvey, Ilya Mednick, Madison Mesec, Paul Messerschmidt, Sage Miner, Natalie Montoya, John Mulhern, Kyoko Nakano-Go, Whitney Nelch, Zachary Novak

O-R: Taryn O'Hara, Justin Onodera, Leslie Ortiz, Nathan Orttung, Emma Osterberg, Alyssa Ostrow, Jeffrey Pang, Theodore Paris, Daniel Pedreiro, Spencer Peters, Karin Phan, Grace Poat, Rolan Prasad, Kimberly Railey, Jack Reardon, Charles Reeves, Emily Riley, Sander Roat-Shumway, Natalie Roberts, Ian Rosenfeld, Darya Rostami, Anastasia Roumeliotis, William Rozanski, Mihai Ruber, Kate Rumann

S: Jackson Salabert, David Sandoval, Rebecca Schena, Alexander Schoettler, Elana Schulman, Stewart Shaffer, Jacqueline Sharif, Kasra Sheik, Taylor Shen, Andrew Simpson, Devon Smith, Brian Snyder, Sara Solomon, Max Sonderby, Keyana Spencer, Marie Spurlock, Suparat Srilatham, James Steere, Sally Stevens, Kathryn Stewart, Michelle Stoddart, Corey Stoesser, Nicholas Stoner, Alexander Summers, Shea Summers, William Sutton, Katherine Sze

T: Sharon Tautua'a, Kaitlin Tavarez, Josselyn Thomas, Cole Thomson, Amelia Tiemann, Amara Trabosh, Johnny Tran, Alexander Tucker

V-Z: Kalisa Vaka, Alexandra Van Ligten, Galya VanderZwan, Margaret Vannini, Sabina Vitale, Laila Volpe, Oscar Volpe, Nataly Vuong, Alexander Wait, Terry Wang, Carolyn Watson, Jordan Watts, Katherine Webb, David Weindorf, Megan Wiebe, Katrina Wijaya, Hannah Wilson, Katherine Windham, Alec Witham, Connor Woods, Madison Wright Zi Xia, Bryana Yarborough, Thomas Yu, Salma Zaky, Giuliana Zanutta






There are no comments yet for this post

Don't miss out on the discussion!
Sign up to be notified of new comments on this topic.


Post a comment

Posting an item on Town Square is simple and requires no registration. Just complete this form and hit "submit" and your topic will appear online. Please be respectful and truthful in your postings so Town Square will continue to be a thoughtful gathering place for sharing community information and opinion. All postings are subject to our TERMS OF USE, and may be deleted if deemed inappropriate by our staff.

We prefer that you use your real name, but you may use any "member" name you wish.

Name: *

Select your neighborhood or school community: * Not sure?

Choose a category: *

Since this is the first comment on this story a new topic will also be started in Town Square! Please choose a category that best describes this story.

Comment: *

Verification code: *
Enter the verification code exactly as shown, using capital and lowercase letters, in the multi-colored box.

*Required Fields