Schools - June 15, 2011

Menlo School awards diplomas to 145

Submitted by Jill Kasser of Menlo School.

The 145 members of Menlo School's Class of 2011 received their diplomas June 7 in an outdoor ceremony on the Atherton campus.

John Schafer, director of the Upper School, gave welcoming remarks. The commencement speaker was Julie C. Lythcott-Haims, dean of freshmen and undergraduate advising at Stanford University.

Senior Class President Taylor Blackburn offered her thoughts on graduation. Menlo School's Chorus and Orchestra provided the music.

Menlo School Board Chair Susan Ford Dorsey assisted John Schafer and Head of School Norman Colb in conferring high school degrees upon members of the class.


A: Eliza Thayer Adams, Christopher Andrew Addiego, Philip Thomas Anderson, Zoe Rebecca Aron,

Estefania Avila

B: Alexander Badrenkov, Birtukan Belete, Timothy Thomas Benton, Madeline Rebecca Berry, Taylor Anderson Blackburn, Kyle Dean Bowman, Adam Justin Boyd, Emily D. Breyer, Megan Hui Fong Ling Brown, Jacob Robert Bruml, Kamyaar Butt

C: Andrew Scott Carlisle, Stephanie Grace Carlisle, Jose Castaneda, Kelly Ann Cavan, Dana Mariko Chang, Jee Yoon Chang, Grace Yen-Yun Chen, Timothy Pierce Coggins, Annie Laurie Elizabeth Cook, Brian Arthur Cooper, Marcus James Cootsona, Carly Elizabeth Cozad, Molly Bassell Crowe, Morgan Mekiella Haas Cundiff, Dominique Alessandra Curatola

D-F: John Patrick Daly, Jacob James Dorn, Bradley Michael Eckert, Brayden Fabris, Matthew M. Fackler, Cristian Fajardo, Samuel Ridenour Fancher, Elise Marie Filo, John McDonough Finch, Alexandra Frappier, Grace Marie Fremont, Rebecca Pearl Friedman

G: Devin Nicole Garnick, Kyle Preston Petkanics Gerstenschlager, Alexandra Catherine Giacomini, Gabrielle Martha Girard, Ryan Goulden, Sarah Elizabeth Graham-Helwig, Andrea Jean Grimbergen, Laura Charlotte Grimbergen, William Patrick Moreno Grimes, Serena Sapna Gupta

H: Madeleina Claire Halley, Jonathan Daniel Warner Halprin, Matthew Zachary Heising, Madalena Ann Kingsbury Henning, Sean Mackenzie Hoag, Anelise Kathryn Hohl, John Bramwell Holland-McCowan, Whitney Terrell Hooper, Kyle Joseph Hutchinson

J-L: Robert James Jasek, Kevin Yumeng Ji, Meredie Irene Rose Johnson, Taylor Catherine Jones, Monica Kang, Neal Khosla, Tucker Tewksbury King, Kent Phillip Lacob, Geoffrey Guy Broome Lalonde, Jonathan Walter Lam, Matt Lam, Justin J.D.M. Lannin, Anna Oleta Redberg Larson, James Alan Lawson, Rebecca Alice Lawson, Ethan Michael Leibovich, Kelsey Claire Linton, Ruo Ran Liu, Benjamin David London, Emma Britt Ludlum

M-N: Paul Scott Madera Jr., Taylor Faith Magnuson, Serena H. Marini, Brendan Cullen Martin, Alexandra Shi-Yue Mei, Jazmin Aria Moledina, Alison Sang-hie Nahm, Mary Elizabeth Nash, Beau David Nichols, Leyla Azize Nielsen, Priyanka Nigam

O-Q: Irina D. Oros, Shannon Mitsuye Osaka, Maclean Thomas Osborne, Samuel Gofen Parker, Victoria Jean Paterson, Emma Blair Paye, Caitlin Eve Peltz, Robert Ivan Pender III, Alejandra Pereda, Michael Aaron Portman, Sarah Summer Purkrabek, Ryder Alexander Quigley.

R-S: Lauren Claire Robinson, Eve Morgan Rosekind, Monica Renee Rosenkranz, Matthew Alexander Roy, Emily Anne Ryles, Michael Andrew Amador Schulze, Maxime S. Serrano, John Francis Shanley IV, John Sieber, Jackson Anthony Siegman, Hailey Kathleen Smith, Rachel Allison Star, Ryan Michael Stastny, Peri Rebecca Steiny, Michael Alan Stern, Caroline Fullerton Stone, Will Strober, Katherine Anne Strong, Jack Stewart Suiter, Kyle Christopher Sum

T-V: Carina Tai, Philip Hatchell Taylor, Kyle Edward Hynes Tessier-Lavigne, Bijan E. M. Thornycroft, Miles Richard Tomlinson, Mycal D. Tucker, Mesiu Mafileo Tapiaka Tupou, Ricardo Valencia Arias, Kyra Louise Vargas, Christophe Dakota Viret

W: LeeAnne C. Wang, Chasen Alexander White, Robert Jay Wickers, Jordan Christopher Williams, Keegan Mitchell Williams, Nicole Whitney Elizabeth Wolf, Justin Francis Wong, Lowry Baird Yankwich, Margot Fried Yecies, Nicole Lindsey Yee.


There are no comments yet for this post

Post a comment

Posting an item on Town Square is simple and requires no registration. Just complete this form and hit "submit" and your topic will appear online. Please be respectful and truthful in your postings so Town Square will continue to be a thoughtful gathering place for sharing community information and opinion. All postings are subject to our TERMS OF USE, and may be deleted if deemed inappropriate by our staff.

We prefer that you use your real name, but you may use any "member" name you wish.

Name: *

Select your neighborhood or school community: * Not sure?

Choose a category: *

Since this is the first comment on this story a new topic will also be started in Town Square! Please choose a category that best describes this story.

Comment: *

Verification code: *
Enter the verification code exactly as shown, using capital and lowercase letters, in the multi-colored box.

*Required Fields